Drive safer this winter say Cheshire firefighters

Firefighters will be rolling into Cheshire offering drivers the chance to have their cars checked before the colder weather sets in.

Along with partner agencies, firefighters will be carrying out free safety checks on cars as part of their continuing campaign for safer roads in Cheshire. Tyres will be checked for bulges, tyre depth and pressure, and the firefighters will show drivers how to check oil and water levels, and explain the importance of maintaining them.

Every driver who has a vehicle check will take away safety leaflets and winter driving items such as tyre pressure and depth gauges and de-icer.

Frances Egerton, one of the Service's Road Safety Officers, said: "It's important to be prepared in case bad weather strikes. Engaging with drivers across Cheshire to advise them on safer driving in wintery conditions is an important part of our road safety campaigning and our drive to cut road traffic collisions and incidents. I'm hoping that people will take the time to have their cars checked by our crews and take away some helpful information.”

The Cheshire West and Chester winter road safety events will be held :

  • Saturday 26th September at Ellesmere Port Fire Station with Protyre - this event will also feature a charity car wash

  • Thursday 1st October, 10am-3pm, Morrisons, Winsford with Northwich Tyres

  • Saturday 3rd October,10am-2pm, Tarporley Fire Station with Northwich Tyres - this event will also feature a charity car wash

  • Wednesday 7th October, 12-4pm, Waitrose, Northwich with Northwich Tyres

  • Tuesday 13th October, 10am-3pm, Grosvenor Garden Centre, Chester with Protyre

  • Friday 16th October, 10am-3pm, Morrisons Ellesmere Port with Tyres on the Drive

  • Wednesday 21st October, 10am-1pm, Tesco Helsby with Tyres on the Drive

The Cheshire East winter road safety events will be held :

  • Tuesday 6th October, 10am-4pm at Waters with Protyre (for Waters staff only)

  • Wednesday 14th October, 12-4pm, Booths Knutsford with Tyres on the Drive

  • Wednesday 14th October, 12-4pm, Congleton West Heath Shopping Centre with ATS

  • Tuesday 20th October, 12-4pm, Malpas Fire Station with Protyre - this event also features a charity car wash

  • Thursday 22nd October, 12-4pm, Sandbach Fire Station with ATS - this event also features a charity car wash

  • Thursday 22nd October, 11am-2pm, Astra Zeneca with Tyres on the Drive (for Astra Zeneca staff only)

  • Friday 23rd October, 10am-3pm, Macclesfield Tesco with Tyres on the Drive

  • Saturday 24th October, 10am-1pm, Asda Alsager with ATS

  • Saturday 24th October, 12-4pm, Middlewich Fire Station with ATS - this event also features a charity car wash

  • Monday 26th October, 10am-3pm, B&Q Crewe with ATS

  • Monday 26th October, 11am-3.30pm, Poynton Fire Station with Protyre

The Warrington winter road safety events will be held :

  • Friday 30th October, 1pm-4pm, Sainsbury's Nantwich with Tyres on the Drive

  • Thursday 8th October, 10am-3pm, ASDA Westbrook Warrington with Tyres on the Drive

  • Friday 9th October, 9.30pm-1pm, ASDA Cockhedge, Warrington with Protyre

  • Monday 19th October, 12-4pm, Bents Garden Centre Birchwood with Tyres on the Drive

  • Tuesday 27th October, 10am-3pm, Alban Retail Park Warrington with Protyre

  • Wednesday 28th October, 10am-3pm, Morrisons Stockton Heath with Tyres on the Drive

The Halton winter road safety events will be held :

  • Tuesday 20th October, 10am-3pm, Runcorn Asda with Protyre

  • Tuesday 27th October, 10am-3pm, Widnes Halfords/M&S with Tyres on the Drive

For more information about the work the Service carries out for keeping our roads safer please visit - Road safety advice

For media information please call Sarah on 01606 868451 or email sarah.dornford-may@cheshirefire.gov.uk.

Date published: Wed, 23 Sep 2015 11:03:24 GMT

Related images


Winter snow car scene