Cheshire Fire Authority welcomes new Chair, Vice Chair and members

Cheshire Fire Authority confirmed Cllr Stef Nelson as its new Chair at its Annual General Meeting yesterday (Wednesday 28 June). A new Vice Chair was also elected and six new members welcomed to the Authority.

A Labour member for Halton’s Bridgewater ward with 26 years’ experience in local government, Cllr Nelson has served on Cheshire Fire Authority for 20 years, most recently as Vice Chair. He succeeds former Chester councillor Bob Rudd, who stood down in April after eight years chairing the Authority.

Cllr Nelson said:

“It is an honour and privilege to be elected Chair of Cheshire Fire Authority, which has oversight of what I believe is one of the country’s highest performing fire and rescue services.
“Members, officers and the Service’s dedicated workforce are totally committed to keeping the people of Cheshire safe and well through innovative community safety activity and by providing a first class response to emergencies. At a time when we are starting to develop our plans for the next four years, I’m looking forward to working with them closely to ensure we continue to meet the needs of our communities into the future.”

Cllr Gina Lewis, a Labour member for Winsford Over and Verdin ward in Cheshire West and Chester, was elected as Vice Chair of the Authority.

The following new members were also confirmed:

  • Cllr John Bird (Independent, Cheshire East)

  • Cllr Peter Coan (Conservative, Cheshire East)

  • Cllr Steve Collings (Labour, Cheshire West and Chester)

  • Cllr Felicity Davies (Labour, Cheshire West and Chester)

  • Cllr Margaret Simon (Conservative, Cheshire East)

  • Cllr Laura Smith (Labour, Cheshire East)

They succeed former councillors Dennis Murphy, James Nicholas, Jonathan Parry and Bob Rudd, and serving councillors Michael Beanland and Nathan Pardoe, as Members of the Authority.

To help shape its plans for the future, the Authority is currently seeking the views of the public on their priorities for the fire and rescue service. Visit Developing our 2024-2028 Community Risk Management Plan