Cheshire Fire Authority

The Fire Authority is the publicly accountable body which manages the fire and rescue service serving the communities contained in the areas of Cheshire East Council, Cheshire West and Chester Council, Halton Council and Warrington Council.

Members of the Fire Authority

Information about Councillors  /  Cheshire Fire Authority Members

The role of Cheshire Fire Authority

The Authority's role is to:

  • set the Annual Budget

  • agree the staff, vehicle and other resources needed to deliver an efficient service

  • approve the Service's plans, policies and strategies

  • approve the composition of the Committees, Sub-Committees, Advisory Groups and Task Groups of the Authority.

Information about the Fire Authority Committees and their structures

The Fire Authority and Local Authorities

The Fire Authority is made up of 23 elected Members appointed by Cheshire West and Chester (7), Cheshire East (9), Halton Borough Council (3) and Warrington Borough Council (4). The current political composition of the Authority is Conservative (7), Labour (13), Independent (2) and Liberal Democrat (1).

The Authority is a separate legal body, with the power to set council tax and to set its own policies and procedures, without seeking the approval of these local councils. The Fire Authority covers the four unitary areas of Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Halton and Warrington. Each council sends a number of elected Members to serve on the Fire Authority. As an Authority Member, councillors represent the whole of Cheshire and are not just required to act as the formal representatives of their own council.

The allocation of Members is based on population and has been agreed as follows:

  • Cheshire East: 9

  • Cheshire West and Chester: 7

  • Halton: 3

  • Warrington: 4

View more about Cheshire Fire Authority, including information about meetings and Councillors.

Last updated: Friday, 31 May 2024