Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005

The Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005 or "the Fire Safety Order" came into force on 1 October 2006.

The Fire Safety Order 2005 (opens in new window) 

What does this mean for my business?

The legislation fundamentally changed the way in which fire safety for businesses is carried out and enforced.

It provides for a risk-based approach to fire safety in non-domestic premises.

This allows more efficient and effective enforcement by the fire and rescue service.

Who does it apply to?

The Fire Safety Order applies to most non-domestic premises. It includes many businesses, such as:

  • Guesthouses.

  • Small day nurseries.

  • Self-employed people.

  • Parts of the voluntary sector.

What do I have to do?

The Responsible Person at the premises is responsible for carrying out a risk assessment to identify the risks and hazards, with fire safety officers enforcing the Fire Safety Order through audits.

Fire safety certificates are no longer issued.

If you are:

  • Responsible for your business premises.

  • An employer.

  • Self-employed with business premises.

  • A charity or voluntary organisation.

  • A contractor with a degree of control over any premises.

YOU WILL be required to undertake a Fire risk assessment

It is your responsibility to make sure your workplace reaches the required standard and employees are provided with adequate fire safety training.

What am I responsible for?

The Responsible Person is responsible for:

  • Reducing the risk from fire as far as reasonably practicable.

  • Providing general fire precautions.

  • Taking additional measures where flammable or explosive materials are involved.

  • Creating a plan to deal with emergencies

Our inspection programme

We have a database of over 32,000 non-domestic premises in Cheshire East, Cheshire West and Chester, Halton and Warrington.

We adopt a risk based inspection programme targeting those premises that present the highest risk.

Last updated: Wednesday, 11 October 2023